Saturday Serenade

Wow, we do have lots of Saturday songs! But then we have such diverse attitudes and approaches to the day itself. Some of us tackle a daunting list of Saturday chores, while others relax and calm themselves after a hectic week. The juvenile cultural emphasis on ‘Saturday night’ can stir feelings ranging from party-time exuberance to misery and loneliness. Maybe we should take things easier … it is our weekend … Louis Jordan might tell us, let the joy begin! Just remember, after Saturday night comes Sunday Morning. And maybe we need them both.











About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saturday Serenade

  1. sojourner says:

    I figured there would be lot’s of Saturday songs, probably Sundays as well. I wasn’t familiar with these songs. I do know Saturday In The Park by Chicago and Never On Sunday.

    We’ve been conditioned to exist as though we only have Saturday and Sunday to live our lives. And the other five days, or more, belong to our filthy rich and powerful, psycho-elite owners and operators.

    • Sojourner, Sad enough, and only too true! We’re considered mere commodities, expendable and easily controlled. Yes, we feel hopeless and powerless, and that didn’t just happen, as you know. Maybe it’s cynical, but the very fact the elites spend money keeping us inert gives me a glimmer of hope. They only put that much into dividing, distracting and demoralizing us because we do have the power to overthrow them.
      Long term, I think those running the world may be surprised, people won’t stay conned and cowed forever. If only they don’t kill the planet before enough of us demand what is rightfully ours. But I’m impatient, and have trouble seeing why we put up with so much shit now. Change is slow, and never easy! But for me, giving up is no option, it’s just what they want from me. And piss on ’em all, we should also enjoy what we can, (like music), no matter what day it is, in spite of the bastards! Thanks for commenting! – Linda

      • sojourner says:

        I agree, Linda! Fuck ’em, as long as I am still here, I am not giving up!

        You wrote:

        “Maybe it’s cynical, but the very fact the elites spend money keeping us inert gives me a glimmer of hope. They only put that much into dividing, distracting and demoralizing us because we do have the power to overthrow them.”

        I believe this is true as well! Enough of us just need to wake up so we can collectively do away with these vermin and their despotic, criminal version of this world!

        • And the congregation says, amen! Sorry I didn’t put up the Chicago tune, but I just heard it too much eons back, and once I found it, I had to use the Louis Jordan piece! Guess I’ve “gotta be bad just to have a good time” too. Take care, and try to be a little better than I am!

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

