Thursday Themes

Well how embarrassing, I didn’t expect this — my luck’s run out. Despite years spent or misspent listening to music, I couldn’t come up with a single ‘Thursday’ song title or lyric on my own. So, as is my wont, I cheated and looked some up. It’s too soon to claim any new favorites here, but these should get us through the day.







About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Thursday Themes

  1. tubularsock says:

    Done well, Linda. With enough cheating YOU TOO could become President!

    • Tubularsock, Oh wow, thanks for the compliment … I think. Not sure I’m capable of quite THAT level of chicanery! And of course after the shining example of your own fully-earned administration, maybe cheating will no longer be a basic qualification for the job! Thanks for your kind comment. – Linda

  2. sojourner says:

    I couldn’t think of any either. Never heard any of these.

    What kept coming to mind was Steinbeck’s book, Sweet Thursday. But of course, this ain’t no song, is it?;-)

    • Sojourner, I MAY have heard one or two of these yay back in prehistory … I knew folks who liked San Francisco stuff more than I ever could. But when needed, nothing came to mind. Think I did see a ‘sweet thursday’ somewhere along the way, or was that a band name, but it didn’t make the cut, or I didn’t find a Youtube link for it.
      Maybe I did run into an explanation for our faulty memories though. Some guy posted a ‘thirsty thursday’ song, with his intro patter explaining what he called the buffalo herd theory. Which holds that, just as predators picking off weaker individuals will over time improve the fitness and survival of the herd, drinking will only harm our weaker, less capable brain cells. Thus, our brains will be better, smarter and faster if only we drink enough! But since his song was nothing to write home about, I can’t vouch for the soundness of the idea. Thanks for your comment! – Linda

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

