Waltzing Through Wednesday

Wednesday’s child is full of woe? Maybe so. You do sense some melancholy running through today’s selections. This is the emotional ebb tide of the week in a way, before the hopeful surge toward the weekend. With no good rhymes for it either. Or is that just lazy me, rationalizing throwing in an ash wednesday song? Not to mention the extra tune that just feels like Wednesday to me, and seems to follow from John Lee Hooker’s stark, sad musings.

Searching Youtube for songs is a definite downer these days, a less than subtle reminder of our place in the imperial corporate capitalist pecking order. At rock bottom, that is, good little serfs patiently skipping or sitting through ads ad tedium before our videos run. Ad nauseum as well, with insulting in-your-face campaign spots everywhere. Even in the middle of a movie I watched the other day, don’t remember that happening before. Guess we’re just lucky they can’t yet tap into all the tunes playing in our heads! Not yet … as far as I know.

Also, I meant to include the Beatles’ ‘She’s Leaving Home’ for its “Wednesday morning at five o’clock as the day begins” opening line. But guess what? No Beatles. At least not in the first twelve pages of search results. Sure, we can choose from:
Vocal covers by everyone from anonymous uploaders to Bryan Ferry and Kate Bush. I didn’t see any by Kathryn Hepburn or Louis Armstrong, but who knows.
Plenty of how-to lessons for playing it on guitar, piano, and (probably) xylophone.
One supposed to be a Motown version — Paul’s vocal over a Barry White-ish backing.
Another called a Bee Gees (or Alvin & the Chipmunks) rendition — simply played at double speed. How cute.
Saw one titled ‘She’s Leaving Home Backwards’ … I didn’t check, it might be demon-possessed.
Several syrupy lullaby versions … about a kid leaving home? What’s that, wishful thinking for parents with a squalling little wide-awake monster?
Karaoke versions … the very thing to liven up your next party.
Instrumentals, everything from harp to bagpipe to ukulele. Okay, I made up the bagpipes, but I’m sure it’s out there somewhere!
But no Beatles. Nada. ‘All You Need Is Love’ was sarcasm, I guess. Hell, I don’t even like the damn song much, especially now! Intellectual property owners have rights, not us. Oh well, hope you enjoy some of the music, anyway. At least, we’re more than halfway through the week now!







About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Dissent, Economy, Elections, Family & Children, Justice, Media, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Waltzing Through Wednesday

  1. Take me back, Linda! 🙂

  2. sojourner says:

    You have more patience than I do, Linda! I get done searching, reading and writing posts, and I have no energy left to do much of anything else on line, besides commenting on blogs like yours and Tube’s. And that I do look forward to, since I can be silly, my true nature!

    • Sojourner, Patience? Me? I don’t think so. What I have is … OCD, probably. And what are you saying, you post 3 to 6 things every day! I’m too slow for all that! Or I spend too much time on music. Too bad — sometimes it helps, and it’s cheaper than drink or drugs! If I budget well enough, at least.
      Thanks so much for giving my insubstantial posts your attention and comments, you’re always welcome! – Linda

      • sojourner says:

        Like I said, Linda, I have been enjoying your posts. They have helped get my mind off of all this bullshit for a minute or two, and that’s a very good thing!

        I’m just tedious as well as OCD, Linda, this is the reason why I can post these every day!

        • I’d call it persistent rather than tedious, Sojourner. I just can’t do that much day after day. We all need a break from … all the noxious toxic sludge … out there, lest we grind irreparable ruts in our brains! Hope my occasional fluff piece helps a little, and thanks again for your kind words! – Linda

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

