Songs for Sunday

It’s odd, but I suddenly felt the urge to look up songs mentioning days of the week. (So all right, I will obviously do most anything to avoid real work, give me a break.) And it’s surprising how much I found. Maybe musicians are apt to be on the road so often they’re not always sure where they are or what day it is when they wake up? Smart phones may soon put an end to such temporal confusion. But for now, we have quite a selection of day-by-day music.

Never fear, I won’t inflict everything on you, not even close. Don’t like my choices? I might take requests, and I do welcome suggestions. Well … maybe. I’ve heard ‘Sunday Bloody Sunday’ too much already, and never liked the Doobies’ ‘Another Park, Another Sunday’ in the first place. Morrissey’s ‘Everyday Is Like Sunday’ is at least as bad as I remembered, his stuff never works for me. But other than that … a sunny Sunday in September … things could be worse. Like tomorrow … when it’s Monday all over again.

++++++++++++++++++++++++







About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Songs for Sunday

  1. Thanks Linda! My favorite was Maroon 5 – Sunday Morning! I got that one! It is good to see a post from you. I know how busy you are but I still miss your postings. And so again, thanks for some great Sunday music. I appreciate the effort you put into taking the time to find a compilation for us. Linda, you’re the best!

    • Thanks Shelby, for your kind words and comment. It’s not much, but at least I’m dipping a toe back in the water now and then. And if Proust could get all that mileage from his childhood madeleines, who knows what a string of music may lead us to? Hope you can stay tuned … and hope I can generate more relevant postings soon. – Linda

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

