A May Day Mayday

Take Heart!


“Poor folks ain’t got a chance, unless we organize.” –Florence Reece

And many of our world’s working people still understand this rock-bottom truth. Solidarity forever, my brothers and sisters! We can never cease to struggle for justice and human rights for everyone.

++++++++++++++++++

Published on Thursday, May 1, 2014 by Common Dreams
World’s Workers Rise Up in Celebration and Protest on May Day
Demanding dignity and end of economic status quo that undermines labor rights and fair treatment, world’s labor force celebrates and activates
– Common Dreams staff
In marches and street demonstrations, people across the world on Thursday were marking May Day, or International Labor Day, by demanding better treatment of working people and union members as they also called for respect of democratic freedoms and equal rights.
* In Turkey, thousands of people defied new laws barring unauthorized public protest and took to the street in Istanbul where…

View original post 3,460 more words

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Dissent, Economy, Education, Justice, Law, Media, Music, News and politics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A May Day Mayday

  1. I’m 60+ years old and have witnessed many disturbing events in my life (civil rights turmoil, Vietnam War protests, etc.); but, I’ve never before experienced the widespread hopelessness evident today.

    • Robert, Yes, people do feel hopeless now. And with good reason, I fear. Those orchestrating our rigged power structure do not mean for ordinary people to have even a chance for a decent life. Because they would have to accept a little less than the everything-plus that seems to be the least these mean, greedy, insatiable folks can accept as almost good enough for them. I don’t know how they believe they alone deserve anything, but functionally they appear to act on that basis.
      I may be stupid and crazy, but I truly can’t see such a system lasting forever. It isn’t right, and it isn’t sustainable. People can’t stand it, and will not willingly surrender all hope for peace, justice, dignity and fairness for themselves and for their children. But we can, and maybe we must, go through a universe of suffering before we see noticeable improvement in the world. Should we then give up? I think not! What the hell for? If we can’t achieve positive change in our lifetime, we might as well put our time and efforts into trying. Because throwing up our hands in despair will only aid the status quo – the heartless bastards count on our getting discouraged.
      And I know you know this, and more! Thanks for all your fine work, for your refusal to give up, and for your comments. – Linda

      • I totally agree. History tells us that such systems always collapse under their own weight eventually. The American model is no different. What we’re seeing now is a late stage of decline where power is consolidating in response to internal dissent. It will spitefully hang on for some time, but continue to decay as its ability to project power recedes from foreign to domestic shores. Sooner or later, an incident will occur beyond its ability to control – and that will signal the final fall. Rome collapsed in this way, and it didn’t have to contend with climate change, nuclear weapons, and the other existential threats facing us today.

        • Hell yes! And I’m tempted to say let’s try to hasten the day! Except … you’re right about the spiteful part; even if those in power are aware that their advantages can’t last, they will never surrender gracefully — they would sooner blow up the galaxy. Power seems to be a bitch — too little is hell, and too mmuch is never enough.

  2. Well Linda, I am one that did not march. I have thrown in the towel, admitted defeat and am limping away; battered, beaten and weary. I didn’t even put up much of a struggle, much less a fight for I believe that all is lost and I am but an insignificant little peon in the grand scheme of things. For what can I accomplish with mere words? Oh, whatever happened to “the pen is mightier than the sword or our case, the drone?”

    Thanks Linda! Good to see a new post from you!

    • Shelby, Thanks for your comment! And believe me I understand … realistically, I know I can’t change the world, damn it anyway. That’s the point of solidarity, it will take all of us, at least a critical mass of us ordinary folks, to make a better world. And too many of us let ourselves be divided and distracted from our common interests and our common enemies.
      Blah, blah … I know you know all this! And I don’t know how we get past this cynically engendered pandemic of apathy and inertia. Words may never be enough, it sure feels like bailing the Pacific with a teaspoon, or trying to shift the planet with a toothpick! At this time, while I’m caring for older relatives, I feel words are what I can contribute. And at that, I’m not writing enough just now, somehow lacking the energy for it. But I can’t quit … maybe some variant of my mother’s annoying psychotic level of obsessive-compulsive behavior, I don’t know. I just won’t give up, not totally, from sheer spite and stubbornness. And because I know I haven’t done my part yet, not even close.
      But that’s me — quite likely you’ve done your bit to spark a revolution already! While I fling an occasional spitball, you’ve pummeled our collective thick skulls with incendiaries and smart bombs! The struggle’s never over, but maybe you’ve seen enough front-line duty, at least for now.
      After all, how far can you march in 18-inch stiletto heels without blisters, bunions and back pain!Take care of yourself, and thanks always for your support and kindness. – Linda

      • LOL! Who can forget my 18-inch stiletto heels, eh? Yeah! And my feet are now permanently deformed. Good excuse for not marching though!

        Thanks Linda! Keep on keeping on!

        • I’ll do what I can. Since I’ve worn nothing but Crocs for ten years, my feet should be fine for the duration. Then again, stilettos might make better weapons when needed. Damn, don’t tell me I’ll have to tote extra shoes!

  3. Happy May Day. Great to hear from you and see what you’re up to. The only way to fail is to give up.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

