Rights of Spring

 

File:Forsythia monza marzo-01.jpg – Wikipedia

“No pessimist ever discovered the secrets of the stars, or sailed to an uncharted land, or opened a new heaven to the human spirit.” –Helen Keller

“Optimism enables a man to claim the future for himself, and not to abandon it to his enemy.” –Dietrich Bonhoeffer

April is the cruelest month? Not at all! Maybe for T. S. Eliot (poor man, didn’t he work in a bank? that alone could warp your attitude), but not for me. In my emotional calendar, that dubious distinction goes to February. I’m just lucky that’s our shortest month — I might never make it through two or three extra days of carefully remembering to write that pesky, redundant second “R” every time, not at that dark and dreary time of year. Once it’s FINALLY! OVER! there’s all of March to recuperate in, which I generally need.

But by now … I just can’t help myself! No matter how grim and disheartening the world looks, I keep having these outbreaks of hope and enthusiasm. It happens every year, though I’m never sure why. Because of warmer weather? Because the birds are singing their beaks off? Because we have crocuses, forsythia, daffies, creeping phlox, tulips and ALL the spring flowers? Because there’s suddenly green everywhere,after endless months of brown, gray, and white? Whatever the cause, now and then I just have to give in and let the whole syndrome run its course. I know it won’t last. A few days of oppressive heat and humidity, a few mosquito bites, that first bout of weeding and watering … and I’ll be over it. Back to, er, normal. Such as it is.

And this whole mood-elevation anomaly could also be short-circuited by the next dismal bit of personal or planetary bad news to hit me. So while it lasts, Happy Earth Day, everyone! And here’s to peace, justice, solidarity, and a little dirt under our fingernails, brothers and sisters!

“A positive attitude may not solve all our problems, but it will annoy enough people to make it worth the effort.” –Herm Albright

“My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world!” –Jack Layton




About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Environment, Literature, Music, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

