Irony’s Not Dead – It’s Not Even Sniffling Much

History repeats itself, first as tragedy, second as farce. –Karl Marx

No matter which way you go, some days it’s all uphill, and against the wind. –Unknown

Now of course, no one here is the least bit superstitious, right? I thought not. Even so, I’m not sure I want to be on a cruise ship running the movie Titanic … or The Poseidon Adventure either. Hell, I wouldn’t even like Gilligan’s Island reruns. Life is full of viscissitudes, so why push our luck.

+++++++++++++++++++++

‘Noah’ showing in England canceled by flood
PBS.org / PBS News Hour / News Now:
BY Willis Raburu April 8, 2014 at 10:53 AM EDT

The Vue Cinema in Exeter, England got a taste of the movie “Noah” thanks to a faulty ice machine. Moviegoers who attempted to flood the Vue Cinema in Exeter, England, to watch an afternoon showing of the movie “Noah” — based on the biblical story of Noah and the great Ark — got to witness a piece of the movie come to life.
The staff at the Vue found, upon arriving to work Friday morning, that the theater itself had flooded overnight due to a faulty ice machine. While the flood was not of the biblical scale, the water was enough to cancel the 12:15 local time screening.
Via Twitter, Vue Cinema updated the state of the theater to the NewsHour Tuesday, claiming that all systems were go, save for an elevator.

++++++++++++++++++

So all right, it’s not much of a story, but it’s a good excuse for a few flood-related music videos.




About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Humor, Media, Music, News and politics, Religion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Irony’s Not Dead – It’s Not Even Sniffling Much

  1. A pity Russell Crowe didn’t make a film about the real life British floods of 2013-2014 and their link to global warming.

  2. Jeff Nguyen says:

    How about this oldie but goodie…

    • Jeff, Yes, I thought of Led Zep, but felt I was already pushing things here. And I had that song in my head for two solid months after Katrina (alternating with Jesse Winchester’s ‘Biloxie’) so it still makes me rather melancholy. Someday I must work through all the rage and outrage still churning over that appalling experiment in heartless disaster capitalism. [Alert, alert!! Extreme Early Storm Warning!! Possible heavy weather — and ponderous blog postings ahead!]

      Thanks for your comment, and for stretching the envelope for me! Now if you could locate a decent video of ‘Down in the Flood’ we’d have it covered. Linda

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

