We’re So Smart

“Man is a clever animal who behaves like an imbecile.” –Albert Schweitzer

“The brain is an apparatus with which we think we think.” –Ambrose Bierce

“It has been said that man is a rational animal. All my life I have been searching for evidence which could support this.” –Bertrand Russell

“Life cannot be classified in terms of a simple neurological ladder, with human beings at the top; it is more accurate to talk of different forms of intelligence, each with its strengths and weaknesses. This point was well demonstrated in the minutes before last December’s tsunami, when tourists grabbed their digital cameras and ran after the ebbing surf, and all the ‘dumb’ animals made for the hills.” –B. R. Myers

I just read that we spend billions of dollars on ‘beauty products’ every year — more than we spend on education. No surprise there — how we look is manifestly considered more important than anything we might know. Let’s hope the cockroaches or whatever comes along after our time will have more sense.

“The worldwide cosmetics and perfume industry currently generates an estimated annual turnover of US$170 billion (according to Eurostaf – May 2007).”
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cosmetics

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Economy, Education, Media, Music, News and politics, Women and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We’re So Smart

  1. H3nry J3kyll says:

    “The brain is an apparatus with which we think we think.” roflmao
    love the track 🙂

    • Thanks Henry. GD isn’t everyone’s thing, but I like several of their efforts.

      Can’t say I like being reminded of just how ridiculous we humans can be, but … no other species would want me, and who can blame them. – Linda

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

