But Women Are Hysterical

I don’t know. Maybe Lily Tomlin had it right, musing that reality might just be a crutch for people who can’t cope with drugs. It makes as much sense as this does.

Texas has now passed their damned 20-week abortion law, which will all but eliminate legal abortion access in the state. Apparently, the women of Texas are supposed to just stay pregnant, if not permanently barefoot. At least if they want to attend state legislative sessions. During the blasted bill’s final debate and vote, state house guards were confiscating potential weapons from women spectators. Given the bill’s inflammatory provisions, that might seem almost sensible. But they weren’t taking guns, don’t be silly! They were removing tampons and sanitary pads from women’s purses. WTF. No, forget acronyms — what the god-damned mother-fucking bleeding hell is wrong with these twisted assholes!!!! If you wrote this shit as satire, no one would think it credible. As a news item, it’s still not credible. So help me, I fiercely hope a few stalwarts walked in carrying some well-used “feminine protection” materials. Talk about wusses — they’d scream for the fucking haz-mat teams.

Okay, I’m over it now, mostly. Thanks to everyone for the good-humored comments following this piece, you’ve almost restored my sanity. For the moment. But what the hell is next?

http://crooksandliars.com/juanita-jean/texas-senate-removes-tampons-mass-des

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Dissent, Family & Children, Health Care, Justice, Law, News and politics, Security, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

