What Are We Waiting For?

“As long as the world shall last there will be wrongs, and if no man objected and no man rebelled, those wrongs would last forever.” –Clarence Darrow

People call the songs and fragments of songs that get stuck in our heads “earworms” — an apt descriptor, if somewhat creepy. Does anyone know the technical term for a song that gives us chills when we hear it? This one gets to me every time, and I’ve heard numerous fine versions over many years now. My thanks for such a powerful message, and happy birthday to British folk singer and songwriter Leon Rosselson, author of ‘The World Turned Upside Down’, the best known of his many fine protest songs. This rousing anthem of rebellion reminds us that the struggle for justice and equality began long before our time, and will no doubt be necessary after we’re gone. If we give a damn, we must do our part while we’re here, and push for any progress we can make. Why not?

And speaking of earworms, recent events have put another of Rosselson’s tunes on heavy rotation in my mind this week. All I could find was this cover version, which isn’t that bad — but someday I’m just gonna have to learn to upload videos. Listen if you dare …

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Civil Rights, Dissent, Elections, Justice, Law, Music, News and politics, Security and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

