Is Nothing Sacred

Can it really be 37 years since the first Ramones album came out? Maybe so. No matter, I am still not ready to hear “I Wanna Be Sedated” while walking through the supermarket, that’s just way too weird!! And wrong. It’s happened sometime in the last few years, though. And I caught — and of course immediately recognized — the opening riff, even through the dairy section compressor noise. My stepdaughter was lucky I didn’t totally lose it, there and then.

And there are worse things! Like the dismal piano-jazz renderings of Pink Floyd, Guns and Roses, the Rolling Stones and Rod Stewart played on our cruise ship last month. During meals, no less. I wasn’t the least bit queasy the day we had 35-knot winds, but could have used Dramamine while enduring that miserable shit. I mean, here’s this whispery female vocalist, apparently just lapsing into coma, who lisps her way through “Time”, or “Beast of Burden”. Give me a break! Now and again, i do wonder if I have lived too long. Or maybe it’s just time for high-end noise-cancelling headphones?
On second thought, I think I’ll pass on the N-C stuff. That’s just one more thing designed to isolate people from one another, to disconnect us from the world. So we won’t notice or care what’s being done to us. All for someone’s power, profit or privilege. Better to pay more attention, not less!

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

