Guy Lombardo, Eat Your Heart Out

WARNING!! Some experts consider it inadvisable to watch the following video after consuming any appreciable amount of alcohol. We might also recommend removing all housepets from the room before launchhing said video, and locking them out of the house may be even better. Reports of serious psychological trauma are widespread and troubling, though still unconfirmed as of this writing. And it is unclear if operating heavy machinery after watching such videos is ever a good idea. Other than that, we are unaware of any life-threatening issues associated with this video. But you’ve been warned, so don’t blame us! [This purports to be from an unspecified NIMH bulletin, but I have my doubts. – LLF]

And just remember what killed the cat…

“An optimist stays up until midnight to see the new year in.
A pessimist stays up to make sure the old year leaves.” –Bill Vaughan

Well folks, we have survived one more year, the good, the bad, and everything else. Including a Halloween hurricane, the demise of the Twinkie, a supercluster of doomsday predictions, and the most expensive presidential election campaign in our history. Do we even know how much damn money went into that? I’ve seen estimates as high as $12 billion, but maybe that was for all campaigns across the country. Personally, I kind of wish they’d just given everyone a $25 gift card, and spared us all the sound and fury. Guess no one thought of it. Although we did have a sort of Twinkie running for President … But I’d still prefer the gift card. Or even a pack of real Twinkies.

Then again, let’s look on the bright side. If you’ve been brave or unwary enough to play the music video here, you may already have weathered the worst that the new year can throw at us. Hard to imagine it could get much sillier, at least! Which means it’s all uphill from here, and I all but promise not to post it again.

“Another fresh new year is here,
Another year to live!
To banish worry, doubt, and fear,
To love and laugh and give!

This bright new year is given me
To live each day with zest.
To daily grow, and try to be
My highest and my best!

I have the opportunity
Once more to right some wrongs,
To work for peace, to plant a tree,
And sing more joyful songs!”

– William Arthur Ward

“We will find fulfillment not in the goods that we have, but in the good we can do for each other. ” –Robert F. Kennedy

“Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.” –Plato

“Let us not look back in anger, nor forward in fear, but around us in awareness.” –James Thurber

” My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful and optimistic. And we’ll change the world.” –Jack Layton

Happy “mew” year, everybody! Let’s try to make our world just a little better this year. Why the hell not? Inch by inch, if that’s what we can do. As a small girl I know would say, “Come on Linda, let’s dig with our shovels! We need to get to work!”

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in Humor, Music, News and politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

