In Recovery

5 November 2008 I still can’t entirely believe it. A year ago, I would certainly not have risked one dime betting that we would elect a black president in my lifetime, period. I just did not believe it could happen, not with so many of us still being racists. Glad to be proven wrong now and again.

But it still feels as if the damned Republicans must pull some sort of shit to take the election away from us, yet again. Of course, they’ve trashed out the country and the world economy, so perhaps now they’re content to sit back and watch the Democrats destroy themselves trying to salvage them. Can we say … a conspiracy of malice and incompetence? I truly hate being this suspicious, but how can I help it after the past 30 – or 40 – years?

1 January 2009 Happy 2009? At least George Bush will soon be gone – we hope. I still wouldn’t rule out some last-ditch shit to retain power. Then again, the bushies have left so little of the country that they’re probably more than willing to waddle away from the carcass now, and let the EMT team try to bring it back to something resembling life. . Goodbye, and good luck. Most of all, good riddance! Don’t even think of being forgotten or forgiven, assholes. People can do that if they like, but we’ll all pay dearly for such a horrible mistake. As for me, I do not intend to forget, and I shall absolutely never forgive any of these misbegotten, cynical, arrogant war criminals!!!
20 January 2009 After eight endless, infuriating, humiliating years, it’s such a pleasure to say this: George Bush is FINALLY!!GONE!!!!!!!! I can wake up tomorrow morning without secretly hoping to learn that he and Cheney have been assassinated – which must immediately improve my mental health. They are still breathing, though, and walking the streets, damn them!!

Chuck’s been calling all his Republican buddies, telling them that Bush and Cheney were just apprehended while trying to sneak out of D.C by Greyhound bus, disguised as an Amish couple. They probably would have eluded capture if Bush hadn’t been lugging a huge, heavy suitcase filled with the best White House silver. When he bent down to help drag the booty bag, Cheney’s false beard slipped. An alert citizen spotted him, whipped out a cell phone, and called 911 to report some possible terrorists. (So all right, it may have been a Nigerian panhandler, but he still deserves the ten million dollar reward.) It’s now rumored that the pair may be shipped to Guantanamo for preliminary interrogations before their extradition to the World Court to face war crimes charges. I just wish those overcivilized Europeans still had the death penalty, that’s all!!! Yes, of course it’s mere wishful thinking, I know, but it’s still fun.

21 January 2009 And I do feel better already. Of course, now I’ll get up every morning secretly dreading to hear of assassinations… Then again, I understand that Obama’s election has been such a boon to gun sales and to white supremacists’ recruiting efforts that they may not choose to kill the goose for a while. What a country.

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in News and politics and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

