Splinter Removal 101

I keep thinking that my capacity for outrage and indignation must have been overloaded and shorted out decades ago. But no, here’s yet another stupidity that has me ranting. The recent Senate resolution condemning the Turkish massacre of Armenians during World War I is not only the height of folly, but also the epitome of hipocrisy. Who are we kidding? Ask any native American about genocide. Could we just for once clean up our own act before we try to tell the entire world how to live?

What the Turks did was terrible, no one disputes that…I hope. With the widespread denials of the Holocaust, who knows? But do our representatives have no more urgent business than shaking their fingers at another country for something done over 90 years ago under an entirely different government? Life is short, and our Congress’ work weeks seem even shorter. I’d think we might want to find solutions for our own problems before wasting time and alienating our allies by such ludicrous, meaningless posturings.

I know that throughout history, pretty much anyone who has had the ability to oppress others has done so. But if we don’t keep trying to do a little better than our ancestors, all our pretensions to intelligence, not to mention civilization, are nothing but a bad joke. So far, I’m not laughing.

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in News and politics and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Splinter Removal 101

  1. I love reading these older posts, Linda. The breadth of topics and important insights is inspiring πŸ™‚

    • Carol, Did I write this stuff? When things piss me off, I am totally unaccountable … even more than usual. As always, you are far too generous! In a sane world, I would delete … at least 95 % of these things. But if I haven’t exercised as much self-restraint and reasonable judgment in this long, I’ll probably just leave everything out there till the heat-death of the universe. Or until WordPress makes me pay for the vanity-publishing privileges here.
      Someday, I will buckle down and catch up on your amazing posts — and that’s my advice to any unwary readers here. Thanks for all your work, even though I’m now ages behind. – Linda

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

