Santa Barbara

I read a quote to the effect that of course Bill Clinton lied about his involvement with…what was her name again? because "a man never forgets oral sex, no matter how bad it was." It added that a man might forget where he parked his car, or even where he lived, but never that.

A typical Howard Stern line? Maybe Chris Rock? An outrageous bit from The Daily Show? Nope, the remark was attributed to Barbara Bush. Barbara Bush? Now how would a proper, needlepointing matron even know about such things? It suggests a level of cynicism and vulgarity jarringly at odds with the lady’s carefully crafted, and highly successful, public image as universal grandmother.

Doesn’t a child learn a good bit from its mama? I wonder if a man ever forgets the trumped-up wars he has started, or the lives and nations he has ruined in the process. But of course, those things are not immoral, I keep forgetting that. We can all take comfort from our leaders’ total righteousness.

About l. l. frederick

I'm pretty ordinary, so I find any number of things in the world interesting, among them: books, music, flowers, food, social justice, politics and (sometimes!) people. As for my writing, I've decided that I can be subtle and tasteful when our only problems are esthetic ones. Or when I'm dead, whichever comes first. In the meantime, read at your own risk.
This entry was posted in News and politics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply - I've Had My Say, Now It's Your Turn!

